Department of Political Studies

HomePeopleUndergraduatePostgraduateContact Us


Welcome to the Department of Political Studies!

The Department of Political Studies is home to internationally recognised scholars in comparative politics, international relations, political theory, political behaviour, intellectual history, public policy, and public administration. Our staff members have made major intellectual contributions in their respective fields and some have published widely in renowned international journals.  Our staff members have also made practical contributions to the policies and politics of our new democracy.

Our department is home to one of the bigger postgraduate programmes and boasts a lively and cosmopolitan postgraduate student community.  Our postgraduate programmes provide students with a firm academic foundation in political theory; comparative politics; international relations; South African politics; public administration; and public policy, amongst others. Students are encouraged to pursue more specialised study under the close supervision and guidance of faculty.

Our undergraduate courses remain a popular choice and the department is one of the largest departments in the Faculty of Humanities at UCT.

Staff and students both comprise a vibrant and intellectually engaged community and you are most welcome to join us.

Van Zyl Slabbert Chair

Feb 2014 : New van Zyl Slabbert Chair appointed for 2014 - Prof Jørgen Elklit.

Politics Mentor Outing
Mar 2014: Mentors and Mentees trek up to Rhodes Memorial for a fun day out.



Physical address:  Robert Leslie Building,  Room 5.32 (Main office),  University Avenue,  Upper Campus,  University of Cape Town

Mailing address: Dept of Political Studies,  University of Cape Town,  Private Bag X3,  Rondebosch,  7701,  South Africa