New RSA Flag with Logo

Anaesthesia Web Sites in South Africa

Presently there are only a few anaesthesia web sites in South Africa.
Hopefully other academic departments, associations etc. will also produce WEB pages in the near future.

For completeness, here is a list of the academic departments in the country.

ButtonUniversity of Stellenbosch

ButtonUniversity of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg

ButtonUniversity of the Free State, Bloemfontein

ButtonUniversity of Natal, Durban

ButtonUniversity of Pretoria

ButtonUniversity of Limpopo, Medunsa (ex Medical University of South Africa - MEDUNSA)

ButtonWalter Sisulu University, Mthatha (ex University of the Transkei - UNITRA), has a department for undergraduate and diploma training.

ButtonSouth African Society of Anaesthesiologists (SASA) looks after the interests of the specialty, and is affiliated to the South African Medical Association (SAMA).
It organises it's annual SASA Congress at a different centre each year.

SASA 2009 logo

7 - 11 March, 2009

Return to - Top of Page

ButtonReturn to Anaesthesia Dept. Home Page

Compiled and maintained by Rob Nieuwveld
Please contact the above if you wish to include your local (i.e. Southern Africa) anaesthesia related web site on this page.
Comments etc. via e-mail to
Last update 06/05/2008.

Information is given in good faith and reasonable steps to ensure accuracy have been taken at the time of editing.
No liability will be accepted for any misinformation or any consequences therefrom.
Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Anaesthesia, the University of Cape Town, the hospitals in the Groote Schuur Hospitals Region; or their office bearers.